The City of Westminster is home to our capital’s most famous landmarks including the Houses of Parliament, housing the Elizabeth clock tower and Big Ben, the London Eye and Westminster Abbey, Westminster is also a popular residential area for inner-city dwellers.

Westminster includes the sub-districts of Soho, St James, Mayfair, Covent Garden, Pimlico, Victoria, Belgravia and Knightsbridge (shared with neighbouring Kensington).

Westminster merged with neighbouring Paddington and Marylebone in 1965 to form a larger modern borough.